Do you want to be happy?

I’ve been noticing that I complain entirely too much lately. I saw this great diagram once, it starts out and asks a simple question, are you happy? One arrow leads to no and then other arrow leads to yes. The yes arrow leads to “keep doing whatever you’re doing” the no arrow leads to another question, “do you want to be happy?” No leads to “keep doing whatever you’re doing” and yes leads to “change something.”

The actual chart is way better than my probaly somewhat confusing explanation but the point I’m getting at is that despite its simplicity I think it has a valid point. I’m great at complaining, it’s a normal human thing, one of the best ways to bond with people is to commiserate. Unfortunately, just complaing about stuff and not actually doing anything to change whatever’s wrong doesn’t really make much sense. I know, genius revelation, but I haven’t been doing much changing lately so I’m hoping maybe thinking things in these terms will help. Example, I’ve been complaining like crazy about classwork, definitely not happy, so I’m making explicit, detailed plans to change this by diving in and getting stuff done before it can overwhelm me. I guess I’ll have to detail how this goes later because that’s kinda my que to start.

About jchesher

I'm a 21 year old college student at Iowa State University. Just kind of figuring life out as I go, it sounds lame but it's true.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

