Dreams

Last night I dreamt of Spain. That’s not unusual but it’s been awhile and it makes me long for the country even more than I already do. It’s kind of funny because in my dream Krzysztof was with me as well. He’s my absolute favorite person I met this summer in Europe, which might sound strange but honestly this 76-year-old Polish man is amazing. I enjoyed having him with us a lot and I actually miss him more than I think I realized until now.

It strikes me as kind of odd that when it comes to Spain I miss the place, I miss Madrid and Toledo and Sevilla, the elegant buildings, the dry heat, and the beautiful countryside. I miss the millions of outdoor cafes and the Prado and the palaces. But when I think about Poland, I miss Jerzy and Krzysztof and Pawel and Ewa and Lukasz. Not that Poland wasn’t a beautiful country but I guess I just connected more with the people there whereas in Spain my closest friends were American or British or Italian.

I got off topic somewhere, or lost where I actually wanted to go with this. I think that makes me a terrible blogger maybe, I suppose I don’t really care though. Basically my heart aches for Europe, I’m so bored and disenchanted with America and ready to take a leave of absense.

About jchesher

I'm a 21 year old college student at Iowa State University. Just kind of figuring life out as I go, it sounds lame but it's true.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreams

  1. stewartmccoy says:

    I don’t know that I’ve ever missed a place. I tend to miss people. I guess in passing I’ve thought I’ve enjoyed living somewhere and would like to go back, but it’s never been an aching feeling, such as what you describe.

    Also, write for yourself. Writing is creative and an expressive outlet. No need to be down on yourself about it!

Leave a Reply

